Shane Monds is a composer who works in many mediums and actively collaborates with film-makers, artists, performers from a wide range of musical traditions and scientists. His music has been heard at a variety of venues from St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican to the documentary film channel to the City Hall in Nafplio, Greece.

Mr. Monds frequently researches and works in music outside of the Western tradition. In 2015, he composed a new work for traditional East Asian instruments as part of the 21C – Contemporary Practice in Traditional East Asian Music Festival at Rice University. This collaboration earned him a commission from the Little Giant Chamber Orchestra (Taipei, Taiwan) in 2016. Mr. Monds also studies and researches the music of North Indian classical tradition. He is a sitar student of Abhik Mukherjee, a renowned New York based sitarist. He also studies North Indian voice and tabla under Chandrakantha and David Courtney, respectively. The Indo-American News has hailed Mr. Monds as giving “masterful renditions of raag.” In April 2018, he was awarded a travel grant to continue research in the Etawah-Imdadkhani gharana and its developments in the twenty-first century.

In  2016, he was an Associate Artist-in-Residence at the Atlantic Center of the Arts under Master Artist Georg Friedrich Haas, and he also was Da Camera:Houston’s young artist composer in residence from 2015-2017. Other recent projects include new works written for The Museum of Fine Arts Houston, the Menil Collection, Rothko Chapel and two site-specific works James Turrell’s Skyspace Twilight Epiphany. Mr. Monds has received commissions from the Indianapolis Symphonic Chorus, The Louisiana Sinfonietta, HGOco (Houston Grand Opera Company), and the Vechhione/Erdahl Duo whose commission was made possible by a grant from the American Composers Forum.

Mr. Monds is holds a Doctor of Musical Arts from Rice University and a Bachelor’s and Master’s in music from Louisiana State University and Butler University, respectively. He has studied composition under Drs. Pierre Jalbert, Kurt Stallmann, Anthony Brandt, Karim Al-Zand, Michael Schelle, Dinos Constantinides and Keith Gates.

Copyright © Shane Monds